A Door opens.

All my life I wanted to write something that moves people. Words, that mean something to someone, that inspire them or give them hope.

Now that I finally have an opportunity to try, I’m scared. What if my thoughts don’t matter? What if I don’t matter? So many what ifs that I’ve lost count.

Funny how under the microscopic gaze of people, we start feeling so small. Unimportant.
I remind myself that’s exactly why I wanted to write in the first place. To see if my words can make a difference. If I could help even a single person feel better. That would be quiet an achievement. Thus proving that words do matter.

Coming to the next part. What if I don’t matter? How do we determine our self worth? By how people perceive us or how we feel about ourselves?
When you look in the mirror everyday, do you see what you like? The person that stares back at you, is it the best version of you? Because the day you start believing that, everybody will follow.
So to calm my own anxiety I did a little experiment once. I started telling the mirror everyday that you are worth it. You matter. At first it felt stupid. Especially on the hard days I felt like I was wasting my time as well as the mirror’s. But guess what happened any way? A part of me started having faith. You know what they say. Fake it till you make it? Well, let me tell you it works. I stopped trying to fit in and accepted myself. Believing what the mirror-me said everyday. Faking doesn’t always have to negative something good can come out of it as well.
I’m telling you this because I know there are people who have the same anxieties.
We should know, we’re the ones that cause them one hateful comment at a time.

Reaching out to people to let them know they are not alone. You are never alone. Somebody else is always going through the same. They might be better at hiding it.

So try something new today. Smile at a stranger (not a creepy stalker sort, a friendly one). Compliment a friend. Look closely at the mirror.

You’ll feel lighter. Better. If you don’t trust my word try it for yourself. I dare you.

Love,
Manal

17 thoughts on “A Door opens.

Add yours

  1. Welcome to blogging world. Good start! Looking forward for more post from you. If you have time, please visit my blog as well. Thank you πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Great first post. Looks like you are doing well!

    I also look in the mirror and tell myself positive things and you’re right, it feels weird at first.

    I even started dancing and making funny faces at myself in the mirror just to lighten myself up. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s always fear in the way to success. I’ve been spending time on the blog interacting with people. Maybe that’s what helped. Really have to be patient with this. It takes time and it’s a slow process but you get there in the end.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

