One step at a time. 


Read this news today on CNN. This is so inspiring. Muslims, the most misunderstood and targeted people these days. Raising money for another sect that was under attack once, victim of the same prejudice, as Muslims are today. 

Hitler for Jews and Trump for Muslims. Every century we get to see a new version of Voldemort. Who’s going to be the next target? 

Bhuddhists? Hindus? Christians? 

Because this isn’t going to stop. Religious persecution, racism or misogyny has no end. Where will we stand then? What will you do when you realise you’re next? 

It’s very easy right now to separate ourselves from the world’s problems. But we need to open our eyes and see that the world isn’t big enough for us to turn our backs on each other and live on.  

Have you heard of Carl Sagan’s Pale Blue dot? Did it not move you or give you goosebumps? 

If not then let me tell you story. So, a cousin of mine posted a video of an experiment in which scientists gather volunteers of different ethnicity and collect their DNA to determine the origins of every individual’s family. Some of the volunteers thought the test was useless as they could trace their ancestors throughout history. Why waste time on finding something you knew all your life? 

Example I’m a Pakistani. So is my family. My ancestors migrated from India. I think I have it figured out where we’re originally from. 

Take a second and map your ancestry. 

Got it? Now guess where my DNA is from? Or yours? Or those Volunteers? Let me tell you. It’s from all over the world. 

All Over The World. 

Let it sink in. Every country you’ve heard of, every place you liked or disliked. Someone from your family once lived there!

What does that make us? I suppose it makes us all related in a very vast sense. Anyone reading this is somehow related to me. 

Hi cousins. 

So now that you know this. Will you still step aside and let bigotry and misogyny win? Did it alter your belief even a little bit? 

Think about it. Make a change. 

I dare you. 
Love, 

Manal. 

20 thoughts on “One step at a time. 

Add yours

  1. بنی آدم اعضای یکدیگرند که در آفرينش ز یک گوهرند
    Human beings are members of a whole
    In creation of one essence and sou

    چو عضوى به درد آورد روزگار، دگر عضوها را نماند قرار
    If one member is afflicted with pain
    Other members uneasy will remain

    تو کز محنت دیگران بی غمی، نشاید که نامت نهند آدمی
    If you’ve no sympathy for human pain
    The name of human you cannot retain
    “Saadi”

    “Satan” is the father of all racists in the world, because first he disobeyed God’s order to bow human and said that i am made of fire while this man is made of dust “Tin”.

    Like

  2. Nice message its important for people to understand things like these what the real problem is we believe in stories very easily most of the times without knowing the other half of it. Great job

    Like

  3. I’ve lived all over the world. I have seen both good and evil in every culture i’ve encountered. We all my have different beliefs, but our beliefs don’t make us good and bad. As I fought the war in Iraq I met dozens of kind and wonderful muslims that wanted nothing more than peace. When I lived in Asia I met people that would make your skin crawl and showed no signs of honor at all. Peace is a tricky thing. A sin fallen world is a dangerous place to be.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No, if you click on the photo in some different screens it can be a little bigger. Big enough to make a reasonable judgement. I’m sorry if it was forward. I realize I don’t know much about you, but solely on a physical aspect. I don’t make judgements often on the big picture of someone.

        Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

