To the dentist I go 

I always hated the idea of going to a dentist. Sitting with my mouth wide open while the dentist flashes lights and pokes the teeth with fancy instruments, is cringe worthy. But you know what they say the more you runway from something the harder it tries to catch you. 

I was 21 and innocent when I started getting severe headaches. Obviously I self diagnosed it as a tumour. Never in my naive mind could I have ever imagined it to be something as deadly as a wisdom tooth. It didn’t stop at one. I got all four of them together to form a party inside my mouth.  I figured I should be playing chess with Stephan hawking with them being “wisdom teeth” and me having all four at 21. Sadly, I’m told they have nothing to do with wisdom. And to think I was at the brink of genius-ness!

I will never forget the day the doctor told they needed to be extracted. My world turned upset down. I liked my teeth. I was pretty fond of things the way they are. But the dentist said they needed work. I hated dentists I guess they hated me too because now i had to undergo teeth construction! So I wrote down my will and testament and got started. 

And here I am now with my fate sealed, endless visits and one sided conversations in the most dreaded chair. Which, let me tell you, doesn’t discourage my Doctor at all. He keeps asking me questions like I’d actually be able to form coherent sentences with a drill machine in my mouth. 

My lower teeth were impacted-that’s when the teeth are too lazy to be in upright position. Normal teeth are straight like pointing at 12 on the clock. While mine pointed at anything but 12. So they had to be surgically removed by grinding the bone under which they hide and then sealed up with stitches. It’s exactly as horrible as it sounds. I couldn’t speak for days. They may have taken my speech but they”ll never take my voice. Never! Anyway, That’s how I ended up writing this. 

How I miss those days when the dentist was just a concept I hated from afar. I’ll never have a 32-teeth smile ever again. Visits to the hospital are an every week occurrence now.  

Remember when I told you the dentist told me I needed to remove them? Well the last time I went for a post-op checkup, the other dentist asked me why I got them removed in the first place, they were fine! 

You know what I learned from this experience? Never say out loud what you hate. Universe has a funny way of sending exactly that your way.

On that note I’m just going to say that I was just kidding. I love dentists. So much that I’ve decided to even start dating one! 😬
(sending that message out to the universe please have mercy and save me from further construction in my mouth)

Love, 

Manal

102 thoughts on “To the dentist I go 

Add yours

  1. You know what I learned from this experience? Never say out loud what you hate. Universe has a funny way of sending exactly that your way. Laughed right out loud when I read that. I soooooooooooo believe you!!! Wish is why I NEVER ask for patience! 😀 Thanks for the follow, btw. Look forward to see you around the blogs! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You’ve got an excellent sense of humour, but I’d like to give you a little piece of advice (if you don’t mind)- please pay attention to your grammar. No offence intended in the least, fellow blogger! 🙂
    Your post was great otherwise.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love it! And what an ordeal you’ve been through. I feel the same way you do about mentioning things – ‘never say out loud what you hate’ or you’ll somehow get it. I love your blog, its so refreshing. Thank you for the follow and I’m more than happy to follow you back.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you for dropping by my blog, Manal. I just popped over to yours and had a good laugh even though wisdom tooth extraction can be funny strictly on hindsight. I had a similar extraction to yours with the bone sawn (sounds terrible, right?) through to get a tooth out. Plus the doctor I had gone to, when I was working in Delhi, told me that I should go under general anaesthesia to get all four extracted. And, get this, if something went wrong, a part of my jaw might get paralysed. Boy, am I glad to be all wise now. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi, thanks for following my blog. I am now following yours. Nice to meet you. I look forward to reading more of it. I am running behind, trying to catch up. I really liked this first post. I dread dentist trips. Glancing at some of your posts has me intrigued.

    Like

  6. Great post! I had four impacted wisdom teeth that also “had” to be removed. Afterwards, I realized I should have written my last will and testament! It was a rough recovery! The most important thing you can now do for your remaining teeth is remain stress free! I had a serious problem with a boss for a few years-she put me under so much stress I began to grind my teeth at night. Since my wisdom teeth were gone, the molars took the brunt of it. I ended up with some crowns and eventually two of them went and now I have two implants. Ugh! But at least I was ready and have my last will and testament on file! Take care of your teeth! And best wishes with your new dentist/boyfriend!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. UGH – dentists 😦 Not had many good experiences with them. Avoid them as much as possible. Fancy making you have your four teeth out when you didn’t need to. Pays to get a second opinion.
    Your sense of humour is great, and it’s good to be able to laugh at these things even if it is in hindsight!
    Thank you too, for the follow of my blog. Appreciate it. Hope your dentist trips in future are few and far between 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Gah! Dentists are scary. I think it’s our natural aversion to torture. Just look at those instruments – straight out of a horror film! My wisdom teeth extraction was a bloody mess that eventually got infected. Ugh. At least it’s done and behind you. When the apocalypse happens you won’t need to worry about those teeth. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wow! I can feel your pain. I have had issues with my teeth all my life. I finally found a dentist that I liked and then I moved to another state. I love your sense of humor. Keep it up!!

    Like

  10. i have been to the dentist once……and it was fun…..seriously it was fun…….and if is sound any stupid, just so you know i haven’t got any wisdom, teeth………..and about dating dentists…….it’s awesome right! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Yay I made this post 100 likes! Before it was 99 likes ❤
    LOL so awkward visit yeah – to the dentists!
    When I go to the dentist I feel awkward and embrarassed because my teeth is never the standard Dentists want! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

      1. HAHAHHA thanks! XD
        Back to you – the virtual hugs and great vibes!
        Dentists are perfectionists who are never satisifed I guess 😛 Two of my friends are going to be Dentists and man if they meet me, they might see my teeth before everything else! XD EHEHHEH

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Laughed right out loud when I read this. Still laughing. May continue laughing for a long time.
    😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
    😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
    😂😂😂😂😂
    😂😂😂
    😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

